Adjust Google Group Settings

Open your group

  1. Go to Google Groups
  2. Sign in with your SJSUOne ID and password
  3. Click the My Groups button
  4. Click the link for the Google Group you wish to open
  5. Click the Manage button (in upper right area of your screen)
    The left Google Groups menu displays


Disable your email delivery

If you are just administering this group, and not participating, you can disable your email delivery.

  1. In the left menu, navigate to Members >> All members
  2. Select the checkbox next to your name
  3. Actions:  Use the drop-down menu to navigate to Change delivery setting >> No email


Promote your members who should have rights to add or delete members

  1. In the left menu, navigate to Members >> All members
  2. Select the checkbox next to appropriate member name(s)
  3. Actions: Use the drop-down menu to navigate to Add to role >> Manager


Promote a back-up owner

Google groups are not deleted when the owner of a group’s account is deleted. To avoid inconvenience, though, we strongly encourage you to assign at least one additional owner to the group.

  1. In the left menu, navigate to Members >> All members
  2. Select the checkbox next to appropriate member name(s)
  3. Actions:  Use the drop-down menu to navigate to Add to role >> Owner
  4. If this address is to be used to send mail, please complete the following section.


Allow Sending from the group

  1. In the left menu, navigate to Permissions >> Posting Permissions
  2. Post Announcements:  Use the drop-down menu to select All members of the group
  3. Click the Save button