Vision 2017 Agility Through Technology Advisory Committee

Committee's Purpose

The purpose of the Vision 2017 Agility Through Technology Advisory Committee is to work collaboratively to:

  • Provide campus-wide vision and strategy recommendations for IT project and funding priorities
  • Identify needs and programs to achieve the Vision 2017 Agility Through Technology initiative throughout San José State
  • Provide updates of vision and program accomplishments to campus community
  • Prepare vision and program progress reports to cabinet
  • Recommend funding requirements to the VP of Admin & Finance

Committee Structure

The following IT governance committees serve to advise the Vision 2017 Agility Through Technology Advisory Committee and to ensure collaboration with the CIO and VP of Information Technology. Subcommittees which meet regularly and work teams which meet as needed include:

  • Academic Technology Classroom Advisory Committee
  • IT Management Advisory Committee
    • Technology Specific Committees
    • Campus Techs
    • Staff Focus Groups
    • Campus Information Security Committee
  • Administrative Applications Systems Steering Committee
  • Data Authority Committee

SJSU IT Governance Structure (PDF)


Vision and strategy level employees, including positions usually filled with AVPs and Deans.

  • Information Technology, Terry Vahey - Chair
  • Academic Affairs, Dennis Jaehne
  • Academic Affairs, Marna Genes
  • Academic Technology, Dennis Jaehne
  • College of Education, Elaine Chin
  • College of Engineering, Andrew Hsu
  • College of Science, Michael Parrish
  • Finance, Josee LaRochelle
  • Marketing and Communication, Barry Shiller
  • Spartan Shops, Lisa Thomas
  • Student Affairs, Sharon Willey
  • Student Union, Cathy Busalacchi
  • University Advancement, Robb Drury

Current Meeting Schedule

The committee currently meets bi-monthly, which is subject to change.

Additional Communication: